City and County of Swansea



Notice of Meeting

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

Standards Committee

At: Committee Room 5 - Guildhall, Swansea

On: Friday, 20 July 2018

Time: 10.00 am

Membership: Councillors: J A Hale, M B Lewis and L G Thomas Co-opted Members: J Burgess, Gareth Evans, Michaela Jones, Mike Lewis and Margaret Williams Community / Town Council Representative: Philip Crayford

Agenda

Page No.

		•
1	Election of Chair for the Municipal Year 2018-2019.	
2	Election of Vice Chair for the Municipal Year 2018-2019.	
3	Apologies for Absence.	
4	Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests. www.swansea.gov.uk/disclosuresofinterests	
5	Minutes. To approve & sign the Minutes of the previous meeting(s) as a correct record.	1 - 5
6	Annual Meeting with Political Group Leaders, Chairs of Committees and Chief Executive. 10.15 am - Councillors Peter Black & Paul Lloyd	
7	Standards Committee Annual Report 2017-2018.	6 - 11
8	Report on R (Harvey) v Ledbury Town Council.	12 - 52
9	Code of Conduct Casebook.	53 - 62
10	Breach of Code of Conduct - Complaints made to the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales (PSOW).	63

11 Standards Conference Wales 2018. (Verbal)

12 Workplan 2018-2019. (Verbal)

Next Meeting: Friday, 16 November 2018 at 10.00 am

und Ems

Huw Evans Head of Democratic Services Thursday, 12 July 2018 Contact: Democratic Services - (01792) 636923

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Councillors

Councillors Labour: 2				
Joe A Hale	Mike B Lewis			

Councillors Liberal Democrat & Independent Group 1

_oouncinors Liberal Democrat & independent oroup 1				
L Graham Thomas				

Name	Term of Office	Name	Term of Office
Jill Burgess	19.10.2012 to 18.10.2018	Michaela Jones	01.10.2017 to 30.09.2023
Philip Crayford	05.10.2012 to 04.05.2017 Reappointed until next Local Government Elections	Mike Lewis	01.10.2017 to 30.09.2023
Gareth Evans	01.04.2015 to 31.03.2021	Margaret Williams	01.04.2015 to 31.03.2021

NOTE:

- 1. * Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority/Community Town Councillors** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.
- 5. Only one Executive Member (except Leader) can sit on Standards Committee.

